97.3 KBCO & Westword Present

Wed Dec
Sold Out
$25.00 GA
7:30 PM
8:30 PM
Age Policy:
All Ages

For more than a decade DeVotchKa has been melting its sweeping influences into an authentic and totally original blend of rock ‘n roll. DeVotchKa’s first big break happened when KCRW introduced LA listeners to DeVotchKa on Morning Becomes Eclectic. The directors of “Little Miss Sunshine” happened to be listening this fateful day, loved what they heard, and hired the band to write the score for their film. A critical and box office smash, the film was nominated for the Best Picture Oscar and, for DeVotchKa's soundtrack, a Grammy. The little band from Denver was suddenly known all across the nation, playing large venues and major music festivals, including Coachella, Austin City Limits, Lollapalooza and Glastonbury. The love spread to Europe, Asia , and South America which are yearly destinations for the band.

Since Little Miss Sunshine front man Nick Urata has composed the scores for countless films including Crazy Stupid Love (Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling, Julianne Moore), Ruby Sparks (Paul Dano, Zoe Kazan, Annette Bening), and The Joneses (David Duchovny, Demi Moore, Gary Cole). Most recently, Urata composed the original music score for the film, Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, based on cable news producer (Tiny Fey) and her daring new assignment in Afghanistan.

Coming off of a West Coast tour this past winter, DeVotchKa performed reinventions of Sondheim’s magnificent musical thriller, Sweeney Todd.

DeVotchKa is:

Nick Urata: Vocals, guitars, Theremin, trumpet, piano

Jeanie Schroder: acoustic bass, sousaphone

Shawn King: drums, percussion, trumpet

Tom Hagerman: violin, viola, accordion, piano